Cam Smith sanctioned two shots a day after misplacing, and Golf Twitter lost his mind.
Cameron Smith had a fascinating association Sunday morning.
The victor of the 2022 Players Championship and the 150th Open Championship, Smith awakened accepting he was two strokes off the lead heading into the last round of the FedEx St. Jude Championship at TPC Southwind in Memphis, Tennessee.
Minutes before his last round tee time, Smith was evaluated a two-stroke punishment for “inappropriate situation of the ball” while taking help on the fourth opening during his third round.
“Preceding the beginning of the last round of the FedEx St. Jude Championship, Cameron Smith was surveyed a two-stroke punishment for a break of Rule 14.7 (playing the ball from some unacceptable spot) on Hole No. 4 during the third round where he was working under Rule 17.1 (when ball was in punishment region),” the PGA Tour said in an explanation. “Smith’s score has been changed and he will start the last round at 201 (- 9).”
The punishment dropped Smith, the No. 2 player on the planet, to four shots off the lead to begin the last round. With a success in Memphis, Smith would surpass Scottie Scheffler as the No. 1 player in the Official World Golf Ranking, which will be refreshed Monday.
Golf Twitter, obviously, had a lot of responses to the punishment:
Oh God here we go https://t.co/MCPhNq4XJp— No Laying Up (@NoLayingUp) August 14, 2022
Cam Smith docked 2 strokes for an improper placement of his ball on the fourth hole during the third round. FedEx Cup lead and World No. 1 just got a lot harder to achieve today.— Adam Schupak (@AdamSchupak) August 14, 2022
WILLY Z pic.twitter.com/Np58h9Ciib— No Laying Up (@NoLayingUp) August 14, 2022