A first in 10 years in the ‘UEFA Footballer of the Year in Europe’ award

No Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo after 10 years in the ‘UEFA Footballer of the Year in Europe’ award!

3 players nominated for the ‘UEFA Footballer of the Year in Europe’ award have been announced. Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi were not included in the list of three for the first time in 10 years.

Messi and Ronaldo, considered to be the best two players in the world and compared for years, competing for big awards, were not nominated for the “Best Footballer of the Year in Europe” for the first time in 10 years. The duo, who have been wearing bow ties at award ceremonies for years, will not be able to pose the same this year.

UEFA announced that Kevin De Bruyne, Robert Lewandowski and Manuel Neuer were nominated for the “Footballer of the Year in Europe” award in the 2019-2020 season. Cristiano Ronaldo (3 times) and Lionel Messi (2 times), who shared half of the grand prize for the 10th time this season, were not nominated years later.

Journalists and 80 coaches from 55 countries set the list

5e77742766a97cd68176a70a GMSPORS

After the voting between journalists from 55 member countries and 80 coaches working teams in the Champions League and Europa League groups, the candidate list for 3 people was announced. Manchester City star Kevin De Bruyne, Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski and goalkeeper Manuel Neuer will compete in the list, which does not include Messi and Ronaldo.

55 goals in 47 matches, 10 assists performance

Robert Lewandowski, who won the Champions League championship with Bayern Munich and scored 55 goals and 10 assists in 47 matches last season, and Manuel Neuer, who closed his goal in 22 of 51 games, are shown as the closest names to the award.

🌠 De Bruyne. Lewandowski. Neuer. 🌠

Who’s your 2019/20 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year? 🤔#UEFAawards

— UEFA #SuperCup (@ChampionsLeague) September 23, 2020

c4a386ae c342 49cd b6d0 c9a8f8a22bae 1 GMSPORS

Kevin De Bruyne, who has done wonders at Manchester City and scored 16 goals and 23 assists in 48 games last season, is also nominated for the award.

Ronaldo ahead of Messi

Cristiano Ronaldo from Juventus, who completed the 2019-20 season with 37 goals and 7 assists in 46 games, and Messi from Barcelon, who made 34 goals and 26 assists in 44 games, were disappointed by not being among the last 3 candidates. The award will be given for the 10th time this season, 3 times Cristiano Ronaldo (2014, 2016, 2017), 2 times Lionel Messi (2011, 2015), once again Andres Iniesta (2012), Franck Ribery (2013), Luka Modric (2018). ) and Virgil van Dijk (2019) won.